My recent commitment to cooking.

I don’t want to live out on takeout. Not only is it expensive ($5-14/meal instead of $2), but I like being home and knowing exactly how my food came together (once in a while, anyway). I have recently made a commitment to cooking twice a week (hopefully enough for leftovers).  

So far, I have been unsuccessful.

BUT, I have picked up some good techniques.

Do let me explain.

The first recipe I tried out I found on the back of a mayo jar. Now, finding recipes on cans and jars is a FABULOUS way to cook. Why? You don’t need to plan ahead. Simply show up at the grocery store, find a can with a nice simple/yummy recipe on the back, buy ingredients, and make! These recipes are typically user friendly with simple ingredients.

SO. I found a recipe on a mayo jar. Am I a huge fan of mayo? No.

But I thought this recipe looked great. Healthy even. Until I was making it and realized it was SMOTHERED in mayonnaise. My boyfriends gagged it down, telling me that his mother would never eat it. Hurrah.

But I kept the recipe. Why? Because it would be excellent with hummus substituting 2/3 of the mayo used. Now that’s fresh thinking (I get hummus from Kowalski’s).

But I will still keep a little bit of mayo in the mix. After all, everything’s good in moderation.

Now I’ve got you curious. O.k. Here\’s the recipe:

CHICKEN OR TURKEY GYRO (serves 4)

¾ Cup coarsely grated seedless cucumber, squeezed well (I diced an unsqueezed seedy cucumber. What? I’m a newb at cooking.)

¾ Cup Hellman’s Light Mayonnaise

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 tsp. fresh grated lemon zest

1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice

Salt and ground black pepper (to taste)

Fresh spinach leaves, rinsed and patted dry

8 cherry tomatoes, halved

1 lb rotisserie chicken, or turkey, or grilled chicken or turkey                

4 whole wheat pita breads, split

  1. Stir mayo, cucumbers, garlic, lemon zest, and lemon juice in a small bowl with salt and pepper to taste. Cover and refrigerate at least 30 minute before serving.
  2. Spread a few tablespoons dressing inside each pita; add some spinach leaves, tomatoes and meet and drizzle with additional dressing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

