Farmers Market Fun!

This summer, I have been trying to live a healthy, earth-friendly lifestyle. So I recently roller-bladed to the local farmers market. I was definitely the tallest person there!

I don’t always have the schedule to attend farmers market, nor do I prefer to exist on seasonal veggies alone. But I would like to suggest, as a hairstylist, that farmers market is like clarifying shampoo: sometimes you need to add something really fresh to your routine to cut out the previous junk you’ve been using.

I went to the farmers market looking for asparagus, which apparently is not in season. I left with the green beans and spinach! They were the crispest and freshest I’ve had in a long time!

Not only did I do farmer’s market, but I picked raspberries at a co-workers house the day before. Yay for fresh summer meals!

I cooked chicken to go with the vegetables. I found a fabulous way to prepare veggies–it doesn’t take a grill but it gives lots of flavor and makes them crisp! I put them on a baking sheet, drizzle them with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, then pop them in the oven at 420 degrees for 20 minutes. Perfect!

Roasted veggie risotto with fresh veggies and grilled chicken

The meal was a success. And it definitely filled me up! It also made great left-overs.

For dessert, we had vanilla yogurt with fresh raspberries and a sprinkle of sugar.

This entry was posted in My life as an amateur cook and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

